12 Minds That Changed Investing & One Main Investing Theme

Without the use of Python programming and even optimizers, these individuals and their work still to this day influence sound and prudent investing approaches.

However, one theme, indexing investing, has been the topic of mind at one point for all of them.

Charles D. Ellis

Ellis wrote the seminal book Winning the Loser’s Game. He began working with the Rockefeller family office, in 1966, he joined Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette, and later started Greenwich Associates in 1972.

Eugene F. Fama

Professor of Finance at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. In 2013, he shared the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences jointly with Robert J. Shiller and Lars Peter Hansen.

Daniel Kahneman

The author of Thinking, Fast And Slow and Nobel economist, winner, Daniel Kahneman, is best known for his work on the psychology of judgment and decision-making, as well as behavioral economics, for which he was awarded the 2002 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences. He is professor emeritus of psychology and public affairs at Princeton University‘s Woodrow Wilson School.

Richard Thaler

Professor of Behavioral Science and Economics at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. In 2017, he was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences for his contributions to behavioral economics.

Robert C. Merton, Robert Solow, Paul Samuelson

MIT Professor Merton is an economist who won the Nobel prize with Myron Scholes a method to determine the value of derivatives.

MIT Professor Solow, has been a professor since 1949. He won the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 1987 and the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2014.

MIT Professor Samuelson was the first American to win the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 1970. The “Father of Modern Economics,” The New York Times considered him to be the “foremost academic economist of the 20th century.”

William F. Sharpe

Professor of Finance, Emeritus at Stanford University‘s Graduate School of Business, and the winner of the 1990 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Benoit Mandelbrot

In 1958, he began a 35-year career at IBM, where he became an IBM Fellow, and periodically taught at Harvard University. At Harvard, he taught economics and applied sciences.

Because of his access to IBM’s computers, Mandelbrot was one of the first to use computer graphics to create and display fractal geometric images, leading to his discovery of the Mandelbrot set in 1980. He was Sterling Professor of Mathematical Sciences at Yale University, where he was the oldest professor in Yale’s history to receive tenure.

Warren E. Buffett

Chairman and CEO of Berkshire Hathaway. He is considered one of the most successful investors in the world.

Charlie Munger

He is vice chairman of Berkshire Hathaway and Warren Buffett‘ partner.

Harry M. Markowitz

Markowitz’s 1952 paper, Portfolio Selection, won him the Nobel prize in 1990 for it’s contribution to Modern Portfolio Theory (MPT), the bedrock of strategic asset allocation, the most prominent approach used with defined contribution participants to guide them.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Comment